For our one night retreat, I planned for us to completely relax and unwind. My boyfriend only knew the location of our retreat without knowing exactly where we were headed to and I requested that he marinate some meat for our BBQ dinner. That, and drive us to our retreat location 😂. I chose the retreat location (it has been on my list for a few years) and was in charge of making coleslaw and fruit salad in the food department.

Our retreat destination is a self catering accommodation where there is a kitchenette and a private BBQ pit for each of the units. The closest eatery is a 15 minute drive away so we had every intention of staying in, keeping cozy and enjoying each others company 💗.

Mom got this recipe from my brothers’ Jamie Oliver recipe book. I did not follow the exact same ratio and only used what I had. I only kept to the basic ingredients in his recipe but I will share his full recipe here.

Full ingredients from Jamie Oliver’s recipe book:-

This is my first time making coleslaw. Mom usually makes it and its never really the same every time but I still think its all good anyway.

3/4 of the smallest cabbage I could find.
Cabbage, 2 medium sized carrots, celery leaves, mayonnaise, yellow mustard, grain mustard and lemon juice.
2 green apples (small)
3 tbs mayonnaise, 2 tsp grain mustard, 2 tbs lemon juice

Mom’s advise is to mix the mayonnaise one step at a time and taste accordingly because there is a tendency to put too much mayonnaise in the coleslaw. She also said that the cabbages will shrink once it is set.

Mix it all up
Coleslaw ready for trip!

Heavenly Retreat @ the Dusun, Negeri Sembilan

Healthy fruit salad

The Dusun (Pantai, Negeri Sembilan) @TheJetty❤

The Dusun (Negeri Sembilan) – Our drive through the Orchard @TheJetty❤